Skip to content

Shuman, Lipper Named CCR-1 Outstanding Athletes

By Mike Scott

Clark County’s Courtney Shuman and Calem Lipper added another honor to their list last Monday night.  The pair were selected as the 2007 Outstanding Senior Athletes during Athletic Awards Program, which recognized athletes who participated in basketball, track, golf and cheerleading.
Shuman was also named the Most Valuable Player for the Lady Indian basketball team.  Kenzie Hopp took home the “Defensive Stopper” award, while Cody St. Clair, Daryle Goldie and Courtney Shuman shared “Lady Indian Team Pride” honors.  Lettering for the Lady Indians were Britni Bertelli, Brenna Buford, Daryle Goldie, Kenzie Hopp, Brittany Logsdon, Kayli Lovell, Courtney Shuman, Kassidy Shuman, cody St. Clair, Megan Wilson and Amanda Winters. Players not earning a varsity letter were Cady Flood and Brooke Wheeler.
The Lady Indians finished with a 13-8 record, and coach Phil Klett was the Tri Rivers Conference Coach of the Year.
Junior varsity players were Britni Bertelli, Morgan Bertelli, Camille Blum, Karissa Boudreau, Kayla Buschling, Caitlyn Davis, Rachel Daw, Cady Flood, Ashley Gail, Melissa Jerez, Caroline Krueger, Deanna Shoup, Alexis St.
See AWARDS, Page 5
Clair, Tara Sutterfield, Brook Wheeler and Jillian Wilson.  Team managers were Kara Cook, Audrey Moon and Kristy Yates.
The boys basketball team honored Carrington Daniel as the “Outstanding Player”.  Colt Sommers was named “Defensive Player of the Year”, while Michael Brennan and Bryan Plenge shared “Most Improved Player” honors.  A new award, the “Indian Dedication and Character” award, was presented to Dennis Mathes and Dasan Justice.
Lettering for the Indians were Ethan Allen, Michael Brennan, Carrington Daniel, Brock Egley, Ethan Horton, Dasan Justice, Calem Lipper, Dennis Mathes, Scott McAfee,Bryan Plenge, Colt Sommers, Javis Vineyard and Lynn Williams.
Erick Arnold, Erick Byrn and Cory Kiger served as Chief Stomp-um, and statisticians were Callie Carroll and Katie Meinhardt.  The Indians finished the season with 15-11 record, 4-3 in the TRC.
Junior varsity players were Zach Alderton, Dakota Armstrong, Jordan Hufford, Jarron Kauffamn, Cadence Kirchner, Justin Oilar, Tim Otte, Ryan St. Clair and Lynn Williams.
The 2007 varsity cheerleaders were Niccole Adams, Danielle Bertelli, Ricquel Dobson, Heather Fox, Jennifer Mohr, Elsa Scott and Karyn Spory.
In girl’s track, Courtney Shuman was named the “Most Valuable Player”.  Kassidy Shuman received “Most Improved” honors, while Ashley Gail and Kayla Buschling were “Outstanding Newcomers”.  The “Leadership” award was given to Daryle Goldie.
Earning a letter for track were Britni Bertelli, Camille Blum, Bailee Brooks, Kayla Buschling, Kara Cook, Caitlyn Davis, Ashley Gail, Daryle Goldie, Kenzie Hopp, Kayla Jennings, Kassi Kiger, Caroline Krueger, Shaide Leeper, Amanda Nixon, Kristen Pulling, Courtney Shuman, Kassidy Shuman, Andrea Small, Amanda Stewart, Chelsea Wales, Amanda Winters an Kristy Yates.  Other team members include Niccole Adams, Kim Francis, Kim Tidbits, Kelcey Kites and Melissa Jerez.
In boys track, Javis Vineyard earned the “Most Valuable Player” award.  “Most Improved” honors went to Erick Arnold, while Michael Brennan and Lynn Williams shared “Newcomer of the Year” honors. Ethan Allen and Matt Morrow received the “Indian Pride” award.
Lettering in varsity track were Ethan Allen, Erick Arnold, Thomas Barnhart, Michael Brennan, Erick Byrn, Carrington Daniel, Dominic Egley, Ethan Horton, Kolt Kiger, Calem Lipper, Jesse Lorigan, Dylan Ludwick, Matt Morrow, Justin Oilar, Rob Schutte, Cori Seth, Matt Sewell, Nathan Smeltser, Colt Sommers, Javis Vineyard, Lynn Williams and Zac Wood.  Other team members were Robert Boyd, Eddie Coffman, Tony Edmondson, Cylee Gutting, Jordan Hufford, Boris Jovanavic, Zach Saavedra, Bryan Plenge and Konrad Scribner.  Team managers were Jonie Kirchner and Megan Wilson.
For the golf team, Michael Campbell received the “Most Improved” award.  Lettering in golf were Dakota Armstrong, Michael Campbell, Zach Nixon, Ryan Roberts, Ryan St. Clair, Alex Summers and Alex Warner.  Other team members were Neal Moon, Mason Owen and Collin Summers.