Skip to content


Governor Matt Blunt declared April, 2008 to be “Missouri Mediation Month” at a ceremony held Wednesday, March 12, 2008, at his office in Jefferson City, Missouri. The resolution, sponsored by the Association of Missouri Mediators, commends the increasingly important role of mediation in “fostering communication and cooperation, offering a forum for creative options, and providing a less costly and less time-consuming alternative to litigationŠ.” Governor Blunt stated that “mediation organizations throughout the state play an important role in settling conflicts for Missourians.”
In honor of the proclamation, the Association of Missouri Mediators and other organizations promoting mediation are providing experienced mediators, on a complimentary basis, to serve as speakers on the mediation process or to conduct a “mock” mediation for organizations or businesses interested in learning more about mediation, or to discuss the use of mediation with individuals who would like to know more about mediation’s value in resolving their disputes. For further information on mediation, or arrange for a speaker, please contact the Association of Missouri Mediators at, or AMM President Bruce Feldacker at (314) 862-3333, Ext. 15.
Those attending the proclamation ceremony included: Bruce S. Feldacker, President, AMM; ElGene Ver Dught, Immediate Past President, AMM; Kathleen Bird, Secretary, AMM; Nina Balsam, Director, Missouri Restorative Justice Coalition; Catherine Barrie, Senior Legislative Counsel, Missouri Bar; Maridee Edwards, AMM member, Jefferson City; Martha Halvordson and Stephanie Sloggett O’Dell, Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association ADR Committee; Bob Hellrung, Mediation Advisor, March Mediation; Randy W. Hoerschgen, AMM Executive Board Member, Jefferson City; Francisco Linan and Gedlu Metafaria, Ethnic Mediation Council, St.Louis; C. J. Larkin, Lecturer and Administrative Director, ADR, Washington University Law School; Merrille Maclellan, Director of Mediation Services, U.S. Arbitration & Mediation, Midwest; Rita Pearce, Executive Board Member, AMM; Sarah Read, Chair, ADR Committee, Missouri Bar; James W. Reeves, Chair, ADR Committee, Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis; Larry O. Sullivan, Conflict Resolution Specialist, Baker University SPGS; and Larry V. Swall, Executive Director, March Mediation.