Skip to content

All-State Basketball Teams Named, KCHS Boys Ranked Seventh

 By David Sharp
Knox County junior forward Dennis Dent has been selected to the 2008 Missouri Basketball Coaches Association (MBCA) and the Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association (MSSA) Class 2 All-State Basketball Teams. Dent was tabbed to the MSSA Boys’ Second Team. The MBCA all-state squads are 15 member units with no second team.
Dennis Dent was unanimously selected to the All Tri-Rivers Conference Boys’ First Team. Dent was a MSSA and MBCA Class 2 All-District pick. He was named to the Quincy Herald-Whig and KRES All-Area Basketball Teams.
Dennis Dent was recently named to the KHQA All Do or Die Boys First Team as a power forward.
Knox County’s boys’ basketball team received an honor normally reserved for a final four or elite eight qualifier.
The Eagles were ranked seventh in the final Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Class 2 final poll. Knox County was not ranked in any previous MSSA poll this season.
“It’s a good feeling when 150 schools play in Class 2 basketball and you see your team recognized as the seventh best team in the state,” said Jesse Crawford.
“It is a great honor. We hope it motivates our younger kids to continue to work and show dedication. We hope this filters down to the Middle School so we can turn this into a program and not just a one year or one season success, and not slip backward. We want to start next season close to the top,” said Crawford of the team recognition.
The Eagles came closest to de railing 2007-08 Class 2 state champion Harrisburg of any team in the playoffs. The Bulldogs received the top ranking in the final poll.
Knox County basketball coach Jesse Crawford was recently named the KHQA All Do or Die Boys Coach of the Year. “Dennis is a great ball player,” said Coach Crawford. “He is a double-double pretty much every time he steps on the court.”
“He is a great kid, very coach able and works hard in the weight room,” said Crawford of his returning all state interior player. “He does a lot of things to put himself in position to become a good basketball player.”
“Our team had a great deal of success this season, with that success comes an opportunity for kids to get individual accolades,” said Crawford. “It’s great to see Dennis get that all-state nod.”
“We had a couple of guys I felt deserving of that kind of recognition. When you are dealing with a state wide nomination, you are happy to get one person on. I’m just glad to have him back for one more year.”
Knox County senior Daniel McMahon was recently named to the 2008 KHQA All Do Or Die second team. McMahon was previously named to the Tri-Rivers conference second team and to the MSSA Class 2 All-District first team.
Brashear senior Christina Scudder was named to the 2008 MBCA Girls Academic All-State Basketball Team. Scudder was previously selected to the Tri-County Conference and the MSSA All-District Class 1 girls’ basketball second team.
Clark County players Daryl Goldie and Brittany Logsdon were the remaining area members of the 2008 MCBA Academic All-State Basketball Teams.
Clark County senior Kassidy Shuman was a second team KHQA girls’ pick. Seniors Amanda Winters of Clark County along with Highland’s Abby Gaus and Shawna Kriegshauser were KHQA third team picks.
Northeast Missouri had about 25 total players and coaches earn all-state basketball recognition. Among those players were Moberly senior Eric Saunders on the MSSA boys’ Class 4 second team. Moberly sophomore center Brendan Hughes made the Class 4 MBCA and the MSSA Class 4 second team.
Class 3 all-state selections included Bowling Green junior Brandon McCann is a repeat MSSA first teamer. McCann also made the MBCA all-state team. Bobcat senior post player Ben Hartung was a MSBA selection. Palmyra junior Jonathon Nutt earned MSSA second team boys’ all state honors.
South Shelby junior guard Matt Patterson was the 2008 Do or Die Boys’ Player of the Year. Patterson made the MBCA team, as well as the MSSA second team. State runner up South Shelby saw senior Erin Mayes earn MBCA honors and MSSA first team all-state recognition.
Class 2 boys all state picks included Scotland County senior Cody Musgrove and Paris sophomore Jon Gilliam made the MBCA all-state team Westran junior Roscoe Robinson earned MBCA and MSSA first team honors.
Area Class 2 girls’ all-staters included Clopton junior Deaven Omohundro. The Lady Hawk guard was a repeat MSSA selection, this season on the first team as well as the MBCA squad. Two time Class 2 girls’ runner up Westran had three all-staters.
Senior Kayla Rice repeated as a MBCA and MSSA first teamer. Junior Becca Schemmer has received multiple all-state honors in softball and basketball. Schemmer earned MBCA and MSSA second team all-state selections in 2008.
Westran head coach Gary Dressback was named the MSSA Class 2 girls’ Coach Of The Year. Canton sophomore Tori Niemann was a MSSA Class 2 second team all-state selection.
Class 1 state softball and girls’ basketball champion Cairo saw senior Brandi Roberts become a four time basketball all-stater. Brandi Roberts, the grand daughter of Knox County Hall of Famer Kenneth Roberts was named to the MBCA and the MSSA first team.
Cairo head coach Bob Roberts was the MSSA Class 1 Girls’ Coach Of The Year. Silex senior Ashley Fleming and Kaci Sargent of Meadville earned MBCA and MSSA first team honors. Jamie Guffey of Linn County was a second team MSSA pick.
Four area players earned 2008 Class 1 boys’ all state basketball recognition. Juniors K.J. Cool of Newtown-Harris and Jay Lee of Glasgow were MSSA first teamers and MBCA selections. Atlanta senior Javaun West made the MBCA Class 1 All-State team. LaPlata senior Dusty Baker was a second team MSSA pick.
Area programs making the final MSSA rankings included Moberly (23-4) who finished sixth in boys’ Class 4. Bowling Green (27-1) was 4th and Highland (22-7) placed ninth in the Class 3 final boys’ poll. South Shelby (26-2) was second in the final Class 3 girls’ poll.
Knox County and Harrisburg were the NEMO representatives in the final Class 2 boys’ rankings. Westran (30-1) was second and Canton (23-3) placed tenth in the final Class 2 girls’ poll.
Glasgow (29-3) earned third in the final Class 1 boys’ poll and LaPlata (28-3) placed eighth.
Class 1 state champion Cairo (28-3) won the top spot in their MSSA final girls’ poll. Meadville (30-1) won third place in the MSHSAA Show-Me Showdown II and was ranked third in the final poll. Silex (20-9) finished their 207-08 season with the sixth ranking in girls’ Class 1.