Skip to content

Eagle Kicker Makes First Team All-Conference Football

Eagle Kicker Makes First Team All-Conference Football

By David Sharp

Junior place kicker Cameron Kirmse headed seven Knox County Eagles earning 2008 Tri-Rivers All Conference football honors. Class 2 state semi-finalist Clark County took 17 of the 25 first team all conference slots.

Knox County R-I graduate and Clark County Indian coach Matt Smith took home the conference Coach of the Year award. Clark County senior Javis Vineyard was named Tri-Rivers Conference Player of the Year.

Please visit the Edina Sentinel web site at for a complete listing of the 2008 All Tri-Rivers Conference football teams.

Cameron Kirmse booted three field goals for Knox County during the 2008 season and was 10-14 on extra point kicks. Kirmse was named to the first team offense as a kicker and to the third team offense as a wide receiver. Cameron Kirmse hauled in 13 passes for a team leading 270 yards and two touchdowns.

North Shelby senior running back Daniel Jones gained over 1000 yards this season and was a first team offensive selection. Dahn Kemp represented the Raiders on both first team units at linebacker and offensive line. Senior Nolan Otto was a first team selection at defensive tackle.

Junior defensive end David Hinkle was one of four Eagles with 100 or more tackles this season. David Hinkle was voted by conference coaches to the second team all conference defense. Hinkle led the Eagles with eight quarterback sacks and gathered three defensive turnovers including a pass interception for a touchdown against Schuyler County.

Returning all district selection Jacob Moots earned second team honors at defensive tackle and along the offensive line. The senior lineman had six sacks; three fumble recoveries and 113 tackles on defense. Knox County rushed for 2198 yards in 11 games as a team and scored 17 touchdowns on the ground.

Junior linebacker Andy Greenley threatened the single season school record with 147 total tackles. Greenley recorded 88 solo tackles along with two fumble recoveries and a sack.

Andy Greenley was named to the second team defense at linebacker.

Junior Keenan Gillaspy was a second team all conference selection at quarterback and as a punter. Gillaspy averaged 37.8 yards per punt on the season. He nailed Princeton inside their ten yard line twice in the Eagles’ Regional playoff game.

Keenan Gillaspy led the Eagles in rushing with 677 yards and seven rushing touchdowns in 115 carries. Gillaspy was 74-152 for 972 yards passing this season for a 49% completion rate. He passed for nine touchdowns and had 12 interceptions against.

Senior Lucas Hudson led the Eagles in rushing attempts with 117 and gained 590 yards on the ground despite missing time at the beginning of the season due to injury. Hudson scored five rushing touchdowns and led the team with four pass receptions for touchdowns. He had 15 catches for 220 yards on the season.

Lucas Hudson was one of only six running backs to receive all conference recognition. Conference administrators have cut down on the number of all conference selections in most sports attempting to make the awards more prestigious.

Lucas Hudson had 60 total tackles with a sack and a pass interception on defense. Hudson was named all conference third team at linebacker and running back.

Returning all district senior tight end Dennis Dent led the Eagles with 18 pass receptions. Dent gained 220 yards receiving with a touchdown. Dennis Dent earned second team all conference recognition at tight end.

Dennis Dent was the Eagles’ third leading tackler with 103 tackles, recorded seven quarterback sacks, had a pass interception and three fumble recoveries and was not voted to the 2008 all conference defense.