Skip to content

Bertelli and Brennan Named Outstanding Athletes

Britni Bertelli and Michael Brennan were named Clark County R-1 High School’s 2009 Outstanding Senior Athletes.  The honor came during the annual Athletic Awards Program, held Tuesday night, May 19.  Student athletes from all winter and spring sports were recognized for their accomplishments during the program.

JV Girl’s Basketball Coach recognized her players for the 2008-09 season.  JV players were Briana Alderton, Kelsey Anderson, Ashley Gail, Tara Harrison, Leighanne Moulder, Jorden Plenge, Katlyn Simpson, Martie Slocum, Cassandra Smith, Alexis St. Clair, Lindsey Williams, Jillian Wilson and Christina Wood.

Varsity Coach Kelly Campbell introduced her team, which finished the season with a 11-15 record.  Campbell presented the “Hustle” Award to Britni Bertelli.  Brooke Wheeler was named the MVP, and Chelsea Edmondson and Rachel Daw shared “Most Improved” honors.
“I couldn’t ask for a better bunch of girls to work with and coach,” commented Campbell.

Earning varsity letters were Briana Alderton, Britni Bertelli, Megan Brennan, Kayla Buschling, Caitlyn Davis, Rachel Daw, Chelsea Edmondson, Cady Flood, Ashley Gail, Leighanne Moulder, and Brooke Wheeler.  Managers were Melissa Jerez, Karissa Boudreau, Tara Sutterfield and Dayrl Mortimer.  Their assistant coach was Amy Hayden.

JV basketball coach Adam Rung presented certificates to his squad.  JV players were Justin Alderton, Taylor Allen, Jonathan Howren, Jacob Jones, Dalton Killoren, Jeremy Logsdon, Neal Moon, Maverick Murphy, Zach Nixon, Grady Small, Adam Sturm, Spencer Waschenbach, Ryan Whiston, Seth Williams and Tyler Winters.

Varsity Boys Basketball Coach Clint Smith presented varsity letters to Justin Alderton, Ethan Allen, Dakota Armstrong, Michael Brennan, Jeremy Logsdon, Neal Moon, Zach Nixon, Justin Oilar, Bryan Plenge, Javis Vineyard, Ryan Whiston, Lynn Williams and Tyler Winters.  The team MVP was Michael Brennan.  Javis Vineyard picked up Defensive Play of the Year honors.  Justin Oilar was named Most Improved, and Lynn Williams and Ethan Allen shard the Indian Character and Pride award.

heir assistant coach was Jon Kirchner.  Statisticians were Karissa Boudreau and Melissa Jerez.  Matt Morrow and Kolt Kiger portrayed “Chief Stompem” this season.

Cheerleading sponsor Katrina Nixon presented varsity letters to her squad of six girls.  Receiving letters were Niccole Adams, Ricquel Dobson, Taylor Overhulser, Elsa Scott, Jasmine Scott and Andrea Small.

Girls Track Coach Al Nelson introduced his 2009 tracksters.  Earning letters were Britni Bertelli, Megan Brennan, Kayla Buschling, Caitlyn Davis, Nicole Dochterman, Chelsea Edmondson, Ashley Gail, Stephanie Johnson, Lakin Morrow, Jorden Plenge, Kelsey Salyers, Jasmine Scott, Burgundy Shaw, Martie Slocum, Andrea Small, Cassandra Smith, Kelsey Washburne, Lindsey Williams, Jillian Williams and Kailynn Yates.  Not earning a varsity letter were Kelsey Anderson and Jeannette Shuman.  Managers were Amanda Denning and Alicia Fountain.  Nicole Dochterman was named Outstanding Freshman and Martie Slocum was Most Improved.  Ashley Gail received the Leadership award, and Britni Bertelli was the team MVP.

Boys Track Coach Matt Smith introduced his squad and presented certificates and letters.  Earning letters were Justin Alderton, Nathan Alderton, Zach Alderton, Ethan Allen, Dakota Armstrong, Michael Brennan, Jeremy Dalton, Troy Ferrell, Ethan Horton, Jonathan Howren, Kolt Kiger, Jeremy Logsdon, Matt Morrow, Justin Oilar, Mason Owen, Byran Plenge, Matt Sewell, Grady Small, Adam Sturm, Javis Vineyard, Lynn Williams and Zach Wood.  Not receiving letters were Robert Boyd, Henry Brooks, Damian Marley, Tanner Ramsey, Alex Rorabaugh, Konrad Scribner, Ryan Whiston and Seth Williams.
Track managers were Briana Alderton, Logan Ensminger and Melissa Jerez.

Jonathan Howren was named Most Improved.  Justing Alderton was the Newcomer of the Year.  Michael Brennan was the Most Valuable Player, and Matt Morrow and Ethan Allen shared the Indian Pride award.

Golf coach Adam Rung introduced his 2009 team, which included two players to compete in the State Meet-Zach Nixon and Michael Campbell.  Earning varsity letters were Jake Bunker, Michael Campbell, Kody McAfee, Neal Moon, Zach Nixon and Collin Sumers.  Not lettering were Taylor Allen, Joshua Baumgartner, Dean Ekle, Ross Frazier, Jacob Jones, Dalton Killoren, Chris La Frenz, Coreena Weber and Mitchell Welker.  

Zach Nixon was the MVP.  Jack Bunker was this year’s Most Improved golfer, and Michael Campbell was Most Consistent.