Skip to content

Cub Scouts Make A Comeback

By Echo Menges

After many years of being nonexistent in Knox County, the Cub Scouts are back, thanks in large to the persistence of a handful of parents. The new Pack Leader Rayden Gilbert, Popcorn Kernel Deborah Dooley, Den Leaders Nathan Shinkle and David Cameron, along with the committee of Cub Scout parents who are being chaired by Paula Rudicil and the pack’s charter organization, the United Methodist Church of Edina, have been working hard to get Knox County’s new Cub Scout pack off the ground.
“It’s to promote parents and their kids doing something together. Any adult involved in the Scouts are call Akelas, which means good leader,” said Deborah Dooley.
The efforts of the parents culminated in November when the elementary school aged boys had their first true pack meeting as the Cub Scout Pack No. 28 of Knox County.
On December 4, 2012 the boys met in style in the basement of the United Methodist Church in Edina donning their new uniforms and finishing the requirements to receive their first of a coveted collection of iconic Cub Scout badges.
“They will get their first badge on January 15. It is the Bobcat Badge. To earn the badge the Cub Scouts had to learn the Cub Scout Pledge, Motto, Sign, Handshake and Salute,” said Dooley. “Eventually we’re going to be going on campouts and hiking, exploring the community and scrap booking and making crafts and various activities to earn badges.”
According to Dooley the pack is inexpensive to join and the Cub Scouts participate in fundraisers to pay for the cost of their uniforms and badges.
The Cub Scouts of Knox County sold popcorn from Oct 3 to Nov 16, 2012, and raised a whopping $3981. $1313.73 stayed with the pack and was used to purchase their uniforms, will help fund all this year’s pack activities along with the cost of their badges.

Cub Scout Pack No. 28 of Knox County – Back Row: Issac McCurren, Jake Aldridge, Nelson Shinkle and Christopher Yahl. Front Row: Christian Campbell, Grant O’ Haver, Tyson Gilbert, Joey Davis and Matthew Rudicil.