Skip to content

Luray School To Close, County Use Tax Fails

Only 16.72 percent of voters cast their ballots on Tuesday, with a total of 777 ballots cast.

Luray School voters overwhelmingly approved closing the school at the end of this school year, and merging with Clark County R-1. The final vote was 85-27.

The countywide use tax was defeated by a narrow margin, 388-367.

Bill Schutte and Jason Acklie were reelected to the CCR-1 School District. Schutte received 470 votes, and Acklie got 414. Challenger Ruth Brotherton received 260 votes.

In Kahoka’s East Ward, Joe Roberts unseated long-time Alderman Jeff Wood. Roberts received 56 votes, while Wood got 29. Jeremy Burkhart received 15 votes.

Kahoka’s West Ward, Greg Sutterfield defeated challenger Tenny Sammons 132-25.

Jerry Webber was reelected Kahoka Mayor, receiving 226 votes.

In Wayland, Colleen South was elected Mayor, getting 39 votes. Shirley Bunker and Sabrina Ash were elected Aldermen.

There were 20 write in votes for Mayor in Wyaconda, with a winner to be determined. Jim Hooper received six votes in the East Ward, and Michael Pryor got 8 votes in the West Ward.

Alexandria voter rejected their use tax question by a 6-5 margin. In Ward 1, James West got three votes, and in Ward 2, Justin Stice received eight votes.

In Revere, Dennis King and Jason Harrison received 10 and eight votes, respectively, to claim two seats on the Board of Aldermen.

All the results are unofficial until certified.

For complete results, check next week’s edition of The Media.Vote 4