Skip to content

Long, Johnson, Gillenwater, Lynch and Oliver III Take Opening Night Checkers at the Scotland County Speedway

Long, Johnson, Gillenwater, Lynch and Oliver III Take Opening Night Checkers at the Scotland County Speedway

by Brian Neal
Memphis, MO (May 17) – Finally mother nature shined on the Scotland County Speedway in Memphis, MO, after three straight rain outs the opening night of the 2008 season was put in the books. Taking home feature wins on Bradley Insurance / Cook’s Men Store Night were Michael Long (Modifieds), AJ Johnson (Stock Cars), Jim Gillenwater (B-Modifieds), Jim Lynch (Hobby Stocks) and Jim Oliver III (Hornets).

The first feature on the night was the 16 lap Stock Stocks, with Michael Browning taking the lead on the drop of the green flag. But AJ Johnson, only eighteen years old, jump to outside to challenge him for the lead. Browning, who ran the bottom of the speedway, and Johnson, who was up top, ran laps 2-4 side-by-side, before Johnson got the advantage on lap 5. Johnson then held on the final 11 laps to claim his first career Stock Car feature win. Mark Holt won the battle for second, with Browning coming home third, Butch Bailey was fourth, with Troy Alexander rounding out the top five. Heat race winners were Bailey and Holt.

Up next was the 8 lap Hornet feature. Jim Oliver III took command of the race on the drop of the green flag and led all 8 laps to pick up the win. Chuck Fullenkamp came home in second, Dalton McCartney was third, with Jeremy Phillips fourth. Oliver III make a sweep of the night by claiming the heat race win.

The 15 lap Hobby Stock feature took to the speedway next, with Jim Lynch jumping out front on lap 1. Lynch would lead all 15 laps and held off Jeff Soper and Jim Oliver Jr. on the final laps to claim his first feature win in 7 years of trying in Memphis. Soper was second, Oliver Jr. was third, Brandon Symmonds was fourth, with Justin Hamelton coming home in fifth. Heat race winners were Oliver Jr. and Soper.

Levi Smith took control of the 15 lap B-Modified feature on the drop of the green flag and then held the top spot until lap 3, when Joe Hooper slipped under him for the lead. Hooper would lead the next three laps, before handing the lead over to Jim Gillenwater. Gillenwater would go on to lead the final 9 laps to claim the feature win. Ron York was second, Rob Kirchner was third, Jared Fuller came from eleventh to finish in fourth, with Josh Larson rounding out the top five. Gillenwater and Smith took home the heat race wins.

The final feature on the night was the 20 lap Modified. Tony Dunker grabbed the top spot on lap 1, with Michael Long and Tony Fraise close behind in second and third. Long jumped to the outside of Dunker on lap 2 to take over the lead, with Fraise following in second. Long then held the top spot until lap 5, when Fraise slipped under him to take over the lead. Fraise continued to hold off Long until they entered lapped traffic on lap 16, when Fraise went high and Long went low to get around the lapped cars. Long would come out with the lead and then held off Fraise over the final four laps to pick up the win. Dunker held on for third, Mike Bennett was fourth, with Brandon Savage coming from fourteenth to come home in fifth. Heat race wins went to Dunker and Long.

Coming up next week will be Arts Racemart and Slayton Polaris Night at the Scotland County Speedway. Racing action will continue in the Modifieds, Stock Cars, B-Modifieds, Hobby Stocks and Hornets. Pit gates will open at 4:30pm, with drivers draw cut-off is 6:10pm, hot laps at 6:30pm and racing at 7:00pm sharp! Grandstand admission is adults $8, students (11-15) and seniors (62+) $6, and kids 10 and under Free. Pit passes will be $20.

Scotland County Speedway, Memphis, MO
Bradley Insurance / Cook’s Men Store Night
Saturday, May 17, 2008


Heat 1: 1. 4-Tony Dunker, Quincy, IL; 2. 32-Mike Bennett, Des Moines, IA; 3. 5s-David Snyder, Greentop, MO; 4. 46-Toby Vandekamp, Wentzville, MO; 5. 24v-Mark VanWinkle, Hannibal, MO; 6. 721-Lynn Monroe, Memphis, MO; 7. 5-Tim Sands, Conesville, IA
Heat 2: 1. 18-Michael Long, Quincy, IL; 2. 45-Tony Fraise, Donnellson, IA; 3. 51-Jody Wood, Kahoka, MO; 4. 22-Wyatt Lantz, Augusta, IL; 5. 71-Jeff Waterman, Quincy, IL; 6. 82M-Ryan Meyer, Liberty, IL; 7. 7s-Brandon Savage, Keokuk, IA
Feature: 1. 18-Long; 2. 45-Fraise; 3. 4-Dunker; 4. 32-Bennett; 5. 7s-Savage; 6. 82M-Meyer; 7. 51-Wood; 8. 22-Lantz; 9. 71-Waterman; 10. 721-Monroe; 11. 5-Sands; 12. 5s-Snyder; 13. 46-VandeKamp; 14. 24v-VanWinkle


Heat 1: 1. 111-Butch Bailey, Novelty, MO; 2. 7A-Troy Alexander, Memphis, MO; 3. 3k-Kiel Morton, Kirksville, MO; 4. 1c-Clell Evans, Kirksville, MO; 5. 8N-Brian Naramore
Heat 2: 1. 11-Mark Holt, Memphis, MO; 2. 8J-AJ Johnson, Oskaloosa, IA; 3. 13-Michael Browning, Farmington, IA; 4. 81-Kyle Chinn, Clarence, MO; 5. 12M-Tim Hamlin
Feature: 1. 8-Johnson; 2. 11-Holt; 3. 13-Browning; 4. 111-Bailey; 5. 7A-Alexander; 6. 81-Chinn; 7. 3k-Morton; 8. 8N-Naramore; 9. 12M-Hamlin; 10. 1c-Evans


Heat 1: 1. 10-Jim Gillenwater, Keokuk, IA; 2. 6Y-Ron York, Edina, MO; 3. 63-Rob Kirchner, Donnellson, IA; 4. 88-Jim Fuller, Memphis, MO; 5. 7w-Mark Winkel, Letts, IA; 6. 77-Jared Fuller, Memphis, MO; 7. 33-Todd Morton, Kirksville, MO
Heat 2: 1. 19J-Levi Smith, Donnellson, IA; 2. 1-Joe Hooper, Mendon, IL; 3. 44-Josh Larson, Keokuk, IA; 4. 2T-Beau Taylor, Canton, MO; 5. 57H-Dylan Heins; 6. 13-Michael Browning, Farmington, IA; 7. 12-Adam Birck, Canton, MO
Feature: 1. 10-Gillenwater; 2. 6Y-York; 3. 63-Kirchner; 4. 77-Jared Fuller; 5. 44-Larson; 6. 1-Hooper; 7. 7w-Winkel; 8. 33-Morton; 9. 57H-Heins; 10. 2T-Taylor; 11. 19J-Smith; 12. 88-Jim Fuller; 13. 13-Browning; 14. 12-Birck


Heat 1: 1. 11-Jim Oliver Jr., Beardstown, IL; 2. 66-Jim Lynch Donnellson, IA; 3. 8-Brandon Symmonds, Keokuk, IA; 4. 47-Tim Pettibone, Centerville, IA; 5. 24J-Justin Hamelton, Hamilton, IL; 6. 80c-Kevin Cheney, Quincy, IL; 7. 16-Chris Hibbard, Carthage, IL; 8. 21x-Curtis Barnes, Greentop, MO
Heat 2: 1. 43s-Jeff Soper, Kahoka, MO; 2. 89-Brian Howerton, Hurdland, MO; 3. 41-Rodger Dresden, Keokuk, IA; 4. 52J-Jeremy Pundt, Donnellson, IA; 5. 59-Jay Hayes, Kahoka, MO; 6. BIG0-Bill O’Haver, Kirksville, MO; 7. 52-Rick Barlow Jr., Montorse, IA; 8. 23-Clayton Robbins, Liberty, MO
Feature: 1. 66-Lynch; 2. 43s-Soper; 3. 11-Oliver Jr.; 4. 8-Symmonds; 5. 24J-Hamelton; 6. 89-Howerton; 7. 47-Pettibone; 8. 41-Dresden; 9. 52J-Pundt; 10. 59-Hayes; 11. 52-Barlow Jr.; 12. BIG0-O’Haver; 13. 21x-Barnes; 14. 16-Hibbard; 15. 80c-Cheney; 16. 23-Robbins


Heat: 1. 10-Jim Oliver III, Hamilton, IL; 2. 48-Chuck Fullenkamp, Ft. Madison, IA; 3. 11D-Dalton McCartney, Kirksville, MO; 4. 8-Jeremy Phillips
Feature: 1. 10-Oliver III; 2. 48-Fullenkamp; 3. 11D-McCartney; 4. 8-Phillips