Skip to content

South Shelby School Bond Passes

On Tuesday, April 3, Shelby County voters approved increasing the school district’s tax levy from $3.75 to $4.48 per 100 assessed valuation for the purpose of building a new elementary school, which would close and combine the existing schools in Clarence and Shelbina. Proposition KIDS passed by a 861-769 margin in Shelby County, with a 951-843 total vote.

“Thank you everyone who voted, no matter how you voted,” said South Shelby Superintendent Tim Maddex. “Having your voice heard matters in an election. Now we’re excited to begin moving forward with getting a new South Shelby elementary school on our campus.”

Also in the South Shelby district, two school board members were chosen. Scott Gough got 743 votes, Nathaniel Schoonover received 719 votes, Brian Threlkeld got 689 and Tina Dovin earned 669 votes for the two board seats. There were also 36 write ins.

In Shelbina, Mayor Al Dimmit was re-elected with 580 votes, and there were 21 write ins. Jerry Fenton defeated Daniel Dovin for City Marshal by a 363-262 margin, with 3 write ins. Alan Denham won the east ward alderman seat with 269 votes. Harvey Skirvin got 43, and there were 9 write ins. In the west ward, Chad Wharton was elected, getting 285 votes, with 2 write ins.

In Clarence, Wendy Timbrook topped Faith Roemmelt in the mayor’s race by a 217-48 margin, with 5 write ins. Mike Rickerson and Dorothy Lanpher were re-elected as aldermen. Rickerson got 221 votes, and Lanpher got 141. Latrelle Walker received 79 votes, and there were 11 write ins. Clarence voters also rejected a ½ cent sales tax for transportation by a 162-108 margin.

In Shelbyville, voters approved renewing a 30 cent tax for municipal purposes. The vote was 47-9 in favor.

In Hunnewell, Carl Bastian received 18 votes for Mayor. In the Hunnewell alderman race, Samuel Murray got 15 votes, Aaron Bastain got 11 and Terrance Burke got 8 votes for the two available positions.

In Bethel, there were three Trustee positions available. John Malcarne, Jr, and Wallace Prince each got 16 votes, and Kathryn Lund got 17.

In the Nursing Home District # race, Rick Maupin earned 86 votes, defeating James Kohn with 11 votes.

In Leonard, vote totals for 3 Village Director portions were:
Jim Belt 1
Roger Hendrix 1
Shawn McEwen 10
Jamie McWilliams 9
Andrew Bichsel 7
Brandon Runyon 1
Lori Wilcox 1
Seth Bass 2
Donnie Williams 1
B.J. Jones 2

Overall, there were 1835 ballots cast, for a 41.67% turnout.  Click the link below for the results.

Shelby County Election Results 4-3-18